CALENDAR

SPRING CALENDAR UPDATE

April 13, Tuesday

3:45 – 5:45 pm Regular Group Classes, at Centenary

 

April 20, Tuesday

3:45 – 5:45 pm Regular Group Classes, at Centenary 5:45 – 6:30 pm Rehearsal for Seniors in Brown Chapel 6:30 pm Solo Recital Online Sign-up lists will be available through the email newsletter. If you have a busy schedule or more than one child in our program, we recommend that you sign up as soon as the sign-up opens. To sign up, you will need:

  • Solo Recital piece: complete title and composer’s name
  • Your child/family schedule.
  • Any recent musical honor and orchestra participation.
  • Summer Suzuki Institute or other Summer Music Camps planned.

 

April 27, Tuesday

3:45 – 5:45 pm Regular Group Classes, at Centenary (In-person ONLY) 5:45 – 6:30 pm Rehearsal for Seniors in Brown Chapel

 

May 4th, Tuesday

Last day to sign up for Solo Recital and to submit Returning Student Form. Dress Rehearsal for Annual Spring Concerts  – no regular groups, no zoom! All the rehearsals will happen at FIRST BAPTIST CHURCH SHREVEPORT!

  • Violins: 3:45 – 4:25 pm Violin Book 1-2 in Sanctuary
  • Violins: 4:30 – 5:30 pm Violin Book 3 and up in Sanctuary
  • Violas: 3:45 – 4:20 pm Viola Book 1-3 in Frost Chapel
  • Violas: 4:25 – 5:15 pm Viola Book 4 and Viola Choir in Frost Chapel
  • Cellos: 3:45 – 4:20 pm Cello Book 4 and up in Choir Room (FBC)
  • Cellos: 4:25 – 5:15 pm Cello Book 1-4 in Choir Room (FBC)
  • Seniors: 5:30 – 6:15 pm Graduating Senior (Room TBA)

 

May 8, Saturday

ANNUAL SPRING CONCERTS 

at FIRST BAPTIST CHURCH SHREVEPORT
2:00 pm and 4:00 pm More information on the Parents Page

 

May 11, Tuesday

No group classes

 

May 14, Friday

Last day of 16-week Spring Semester lessons

 

May Solo REHEARSALS

In Brown Chapel (Centenary Campus)

  • May 12, Wed. 3:30 – 4:45 – Cellos
  • May 12, Wed. 4:45 – 6:30 – Violins (Books 1-4)
  • May 13, Thur. 3:30 – 4:30 – Violins (Books 1-4)
  • May 13, Thur. 4:30 – 5:45 – Cellos
  • May 13, Thur. 5:45 – 6:45 – Violas
  • May 14, Fri. 3:30 – 4:45 – Violas
  • May 14, Fri. 4:45 – 5:45 – Violins (Books 5+)
  • May 14, Fri. 5:45 – 6:45 – Violins (Books 1-4)
  • May 17, Mon. 3:30 – 5:00 – Violins (Books 5+)
  • May 19, Wed. 3:30 – 4:30 – Violins (Books 1-4)
  • May 19, Wed. 4:30 – 6:45 – Violins (Books 5+)

Dan Ley will be the pianist for Violas, Cellos, and Violin Book 5+ Rene Todaro will be the pianist for Violin Book 1-4

 

May Solo RECITALS

In Brown Chapel (Centenary Campus)

  • May 15, Sat. 10:00 am Cello Recital I
  • May 15, Sat. 11:30 am Cello Recital II
  • May 15, Sat. 1:00 pm Violin Recital I Books 1-4
  • May 18, Tue. 4:30 pm Violin Recital II Books 1-4
  • May 18, Tue. 6:15 pm Viola Recital I
  • May 20, Thu. 4:30 pm Viola Recital II
  • May 20, Thu. 6:15 pm Adv. Violin Recital I Bk 5+
  • May 21, Fri. 4:30 pm Violin Recital II Books 1-4
  • May 21, Fri. 6:15 pm Adv. Violin Recital II Bk 5+

 

May 17, Monday

Summer Lessons Begin

 

June 4th, Friday

Last day to submit your Summer Lesson Form

 

Sep. 7, Tuesday

Fall 2021 Classes Begin

SPRING 2021

  • Jan. 7, Thurs. 4:30 – 6:30 pm Concerto Winners & STRAD Class Dress Rehearsal
  • Jan. 9, Sat. 11:00 am Concerto Winners, STRAD Class Solo Recital & Pizza Party, in Brown Chapel
  • Jan. 18, Mon. Spring Semester Begins (16 weeks); Martin Luther King, Jr. Day: There are private lessons!
  • Jan. 19, Tue. Regular Group Classes Resume
  • Jan. 26, Tue. Regular Group Classes and 4:20-4:55 pm Parents Meeting (TBC)
  • Feb. 2, Tue. Regular Group Classes
  • Feb. 9, Tue. Regular Group Classes
  • Feb. 13, Sat. Parents Workshop with Christine Goodner— 9:00 am and 1:00 pm (two repeated sessions)
  • Feb. 15 – 17 Private Lessons DO take place on President’s Day and Caddo Parish Winter Break
  • Feb. 16, Tue. Regular Group Classes
  • Feb. 23, Tue. Regular Group Classes and due Graduation forms and trophy money; 5:45-6:20 pm Mid Semester Solo Recital
  • Mar. 2, Tue. Regular Group Classes
  • Mar. 9, Tue. 4:00 pm and 5:15 pm  – Graduation Celebrations
  • Mar. 15 – 19 Spring Break: No private or group lessons.
  • Mar. 23, Tue. Regular Group Classes
  • Mar. 30, Tue. Regular Group Classes
  • April  6, Tue. Regular Group Classes
  • April 13, Tue. Regular Group Classes
  • April 20, Tue. Regular Group Classes; 6:30 pm Solo Recital Sign up will be available in the Email Newsletter
  • April 27, Tue. Regular Group Classes
  • May 3, Tue. Rehearsals for Annual Spring Concerts. No Regular Groups: Check the Newsletter for specific rehearsal times; Last day to sign up for Solo Recital and to submit Returning Student Form.
  • May 8, SAT. ANNUAL SPRING CONCERT: 2:00 pm and 4:00 pm
  • May 14, Fri. Spring Semester Ends
  • May 17, Mon. Summer Lessons Begin

FALL 2020

  • Sep. 7, Mon. Labor Day: No private lessons
  • Sep. 8, Tue. Fall Semester Begins (14 weeks): All Group Classes & Private Lessons Begin
  • Sep. 15, Tue. Regular Group Classes
  • Sep. 22, Tue. Regular Group Classes
  • Sep. 29, Tue. Regular Group Classes 
  • Oct. 6, Tue. Regular Group Classes; Due for Graduation forms and trophy money; and 6:30 pm Online Mid Semester Solo Recital,
  • Oct. 12 – 14. Private lessons DO take place during Caddo Parish Fall break
  • Oct. 13, Tue. Regular Group Classes
  • Oct. 20, Tue. 4:15 pm Graduation Ceremony I – VIOLAS and CELLOS 
  • Oct. 27, Tue. 4:15 pm Graduation Ceremony II – VIOLINS (Twinkles to Book 4)
  • Oct. 27, Tue. 5:45 pm Graduation Ceremony III – VIOLINS (Book 5 and up)
  • Oct. 31, Sat. CANCELLED Spooky Suzuki Play Down (Books 1-5) in Amphitheater
  • Nov. 3, Tue. Regular Group Classes
  • Nov. 10, Tue. Regular Group Classes
  • Nov. 17, Tue. Regular Group Classes
  • Nov. 23 – 28 Thanksgiving Break: NO private or group lessons.
  • Dec. 1, Tue. Regular Group Classes
  • Dec. 8, Tue. Regular Group Classes
  • Dec. 15, Tue. Group Classes (Holiday performances recording)
  • Dec. 21, Mon. Last Teaching Day of Fall semester (This Monday is a make-up for Labor Day)